Milestones 2001 – 2021

prometheus celebrates its 20th birthday on 1 April with 110 integrated databases, over 2.7 million images and 172 licensing institutions. We are also planning an anniversary conference in autumn. In January, we also continue with the project "DigiROM: Digitale Erschließung von Postkarten und Druckgrafik des Rom e.V.“
The NFDI4Culture consortium has been launched. The " Research Tools and Data Services" task area, based at prometheus, focuses on the specific requirements of the consortium with regard to the development, consolidation and certification of sustainable, interoperable research tools and data services. | » About NFDI4Culture
Our application will be migrated to the latest version of Ruby on Rails this year. In addition, more than 2 million images are now available for your research. Furthermore, our conference “Daten^7 – Digitales BilderLeben” takes place from 1 to 2 October under the topic “Data Lifecycle”.| » To the conference page
The DHd Conference – “Kritik der digitalen Vernunft” takes place from 26 February – 2 March in Cologne. In the meantime, 94 image databases have been integrated into prometheus and in some of them you can now also find additional information by linking to standards data such as GND and Wikidata.| » To the conference page
From February to October 2017, the DigiROM project is funded by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (Federal Ministry of Education and Research). The aim is to prepare and design the digital indexing of postcards and graphics in the image holdings of Rom e.V. from its archive and documentation centre RomBuk.| » About the project
15 years of prometheus – that’s 88 integrated databases, over 1.5 million images, almost 10,000 personalised accesses and 159 institutions taking out licences. And that has to be celebrated. The conference “In, above, below, beyond and in between – levels of digital images” will takes place from 12-14 October! | » To the conference page
A project on automatic image recognition is initiated with the Computer Vision Group of the University of Heidelberg. First tests are carried out applying image analysis methods to crucifixion representations within prometheus. In addition, prometheus is now also available in an App, as image archive to-go. | » About the App
The new prometheus newsletter with information about the image archive and the topics Digital Image Worlds, Digital Research and Teaching is launched in a fortnightly rhythm. In addition, the software “pandora” is replaced by the more modern software version “athene”, which is also based on Ruby on Rails.| » About athene
The 1 million image mark is reached. In addition, the long-awaited upload of own images is now available and prometheus obtains the possibility of obtaining publication permits for images of the bpk for online publications as well. The year ends with the conference “Kulturelles Erbe digital”. | » To the conference page
“Meta-Image” is entering its second funding phase. In addition, the existing contract with VG Bild-Kunst will be expanded to include making photographs of works of visual art (“Lichtbilder”) accessible and their use in the context of research and teaching.| » About the copyrights of images
prometheus is now 10 years old and integrates 62 databases with a total of over 800,000 images. To mark the anniversary, prometheus is organising a conference and ceremony entitled "The digital perspective – a beautiful view? In addition, prometheus now informs its users via Facebook and Twitter.| » To the conference page
The DFG-funded joint project “Meta-Image” is being launched. The aim is to build a virtual research environment for image discourse in the image-based sciences. The project will expand the possibilities of digital image interpretation and collaborative work in prometheus. | » About Meta-Image
prometheus initiates the digital Historical Archive Cologne. After the collapse of the Cologne City Archive – one of the largest and oldest city archives in the world – prometheus and numerous supporters are making a significant contribution to the reconstruction and safeguarding of the cultural memory of the city of Cologne. | » About DHAK
From now on, prometheus can finance itself independently and cover its operating costs through licensing income. Also technically, prometheus gets a new foundation: as the successor of kleio, pandora (Ruby on Rails) becomes the driving force of the image archive and is available as freeware. | » About pandora
prometheus invites you to the conference “Bilder – Daten – Datenbanken – so kann’s gehen!” in Cologne. In addition, “perseus-a” is launched, a project funded by Rheinenergie for the automatic indexing of prometheus and the optimisation of the image archive’s search functions. | » About perseus-a
A contractual agreement is made with the collecting society BILD-KUNST to ensure the legal security of the association. In addition, prometheus initiates cooperation with the Bildportal der Kunstmuseen (bpk) for facilitating the obtaining of publication permission. | » About the copyrights of images
The licence model launches. prometheus receives transitional funding from the University of Cologne and the Sal. Oppenheim Stiftung. For the first time, prometheus awards the esPrix – a student prize for the media-didactic application of digital information. | » To the study modules
The association takes over the legal succession of the project in order to ensure the financing and technical structure of prometheus and to further develop the image archive, in addition to the intended overarching goals (promotion of digital media in the arts and cultural studies). | » About the statutes
To ensure the continuity of the project, the association “prometheus – Das verteilte digitale Bildarchiv für Forschung & Lehre e.V.” is founded during the project term. The workshop “Perspektiven” initiated by prometheus shows models of continuity and serves as a platform for the exchange of experiences. | » About the association history
The aims of the project are the consolidation of image databases, interdisciplinary networking and the use of the digital medium for research and teaching. During the project term, 20 databases and more than 150,000 images will be integrated. More than 60 institutions join as associated partners.| » About the project history
As a collaborative project of the University of Cologne, the Humboldt University of Berlin, the Justus Liebig University of Gießen and the Anhalt University of Applied Sciences, prometheus will be launched on 1 April. The three-year project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BmB+F) with 1.8 million euros.| » About prometheus

Meilensteine 2001 – 2021

prometheus feiert am 1. April seinen 20. Geburtstag mit mittlerweile 110 integrierten Datenbanken, über 2,7 Mio Bildern und 172 lizenznehmenden Institutionen. Dazu planen wir auch eine Jubiläumstagung im Herbst. Im Januar geht es zudem weiter mit dem Projekt „DigiROM: Digitale Erschließung von Postkarten und Druckgrafik des Rom e.V.“
Das Konsortium NFDI4Culture ist gestartet. Die Task Area “Research Tools und Data Services”, die bei prometheus angesiedelt ist, nimmt die spezifischen Anforderungen des Konsortiums in Bezug auf die Entwicklung, Konsolidierung und Zertifizierung nachhaltiger, interoperabler Forschungswerkzeuge und Datendienste in den Blick. | » Zu NFDI4Culture
Unsere Anwendung wird in diesem Jahr auf die aktuelle Version von Ruby on Rails migriert. Zudem stehen Ihnen mittlerweile mehr als 2 Millionen Bilder für Ihre Recherchen zur Verfügung. Vom 1. bis 2. Oktober findet dann unsere Tagung „Daten^7 – Digitales BilderLeben“ unter dem Thema „Datenlebenszyklus“ statt.| » Zur Tagungsseite
Die DHd Konferenz – “Kritik der digitalen Vernunft” findet in diesem Jahr vom 26. Februar – 2. März in Köln statt. In prometheus sind inzwischen 94 Bilddatenbanken integriert und in einigen von ihnen finden Sie nun auch zusätzliche Informationen durch Verlinkungen zu Normdaten wie GND und Wikidata.| » Zur Konferenz
Von Februar bis Oktober 2017 wird das Projekt DigiROM vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert. Ziel ist die Vorbereitung und Konzeption der digitalen Erschließung von Postkarten und Grafiken in den Bildbeständen des Rom e.V. aus seinem Archiv- und Dokumentationszentrum RomBuk.| » Zum Projekt
15 Jahre prometheus – das sind 88 integrierte Datenbanken, über 1,5 Mio Bilder, knapp 10.000 personalisierte Zugänge und 159 lizenznehmende Institutionen. Und das muss gefeiert werden. Vom 12.-14. Oktober findet die Tagung “In, über, unter, jenseits und dazwischen – Ebenen digitaler Bilder” statt! | » Zur Tagungsseite
Ein Projekt zum automatischen Bildverstehen mit der Computer Vision Group der Universität Heidelberg wird initiiert. Erste Tests werden durchgeführt, die Bildanalyse-Verfahren auf Kreuzigungsdarstellungen innerhalb von prometheus anwenden. Zudem gibt es prometheus nun auch als App, als Bildarchiv für unterwegs. | » Zur App
Der neue prometheus-Newsletter mit Infos zum Bildarchiv und den Themenfeldern Digitale Bilderwelten, Digitale Forschung und Lehre geht in 14-tägigem Rhythmus an den Start. Zudem wird die Software “pandora” von der moderneren, auch auf Ruby on Rails basierende Softwarenachfolgerin “athene” abgelöst.| » Zu athene
Die 1-Mio-Bilder-Marke wird geknackt. Zudem steht nun der lang ersehnte Upload eigener Bilder zur Verfügung und prometheus erwirkt die Möglichkeit der Einholung von Publikationsgenehmigungen für Abbildungen des bpk auch für Online-Publikationen. Das Jahr klingt mit der Tagung “Kulturelles Erbe digital” aus. | » Zur Tagungsseite
“Meta-Image” geht in die zweite Förderphase. Zudem wird der bereits bestehende Vertrag mit der VG Bild-Kunst um die Zugänglichmachung der Fotografien von Werken der bildenden Kunst (“Lichtbilder”) und ihre Verwendung im Kontext von Forschung und Lehre erweitert.| » Zum Bildrecht und zur Verwendung
10 Jahre ist prometheus nun alt und integriert inzwischen 62 Datenbanken mit insgesamt über 800.000 Bildern. Zum Jubiläum veranstaltet prometheus eine Tagung mit Festakt unter dem Titel “Die digitale Perspektive – eine schöne Aussicht?”. Zudem informiert prometheus seine Nutzer*innen nun über Facebook und Twitter.| » Zur Tagungsseite
Das von der DFG geförderte Verbundprojekt “Meta-Image” geht an den Start. Ziel ist der Aufbau einer virtuellen Forschungsumgebung für den Bilddiskurs in den bildbasierten Wissenschaften. Mit dem Projekt werden die Möglichkeiten der digitalen Bildinterpretation und des kollaborativen Arbeitens in prometheus ausgebaut. | » Zu Meta-Image
prometheus initiiert das digitale Historische Archiv Köln. Nach dem Einsturz des Kölner Stadtarchivs – eines der größten und ältesten Stadtarchive weltweit – leistet prometheus mit zahlreichen Unterstützer*innen einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Rekonstruktion und Sicherung der kulturellen Erinnerung der Stadt Köln. | » Zum DHAK
prometheus kann sich fortan eigenständig finanzieren und die Betriebskosten durch die Lizenzeinnahmen decken. Auch technisch bekommt prometheus eine neue Grundlage: Als Nachfolgerin von kleio wird pandora (Ruby on Rails) die treibende Kraft des Bildarchivs und steht als Freie Software zur Verfügung. | » Zu pandora
prometheus lädt zur Tagung “Bilder – Daten – Datenbanken – so kann’s gehen!” nach Köln ein. Außerdem geht “perseus-a” an den Start, ein von der Rheinenergie gefördertes Projekt zur automatischen Erschließung von prometheus und der Optimierung der Suchfunktionen des Bildarchivs. | » Zu perseus-a
Für die Rechtssicherheit des Verbundes wird eine vertragliche Übereinkunft mit der Verwertungsgesellschaft BILD-KUNST geschlossen. Zudem bringt prometheus die Kooperation mit dem Bildportal der Kunstmuseen (bpk) zur unkomplizierten Einholung der Publikationsgenehmigung auf den Weg. | » Zum Bildrecht und zur Verwendung
Das Lizenzmodell wird eingeführt. prometheus erhält eine Übergangsfinanzierung durch die Universität zu Köln und die Sal. Oppenheim-Stiftung. Zum ersten Mal vergibt prometheus den esPrix – einen studentischen Preis für die mediendidaktische Anwendung digitaler Informationen. | » Zu den Lernmodulen
Der Verein tritt die Rechtsnachfolge des Projekts an, um neben den angestrebten übergeordneten Zielen (Förderung der digitalen Medien in den Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften) die Finanzierung und technische Struktur von prometheus sicherzustellen und das Bildarchiv weiterzuentwickeln. | » Zur Satzung
Zur Verstetigung des Projekts wird schon während der Projektlaufzeit der Verein “prometheus – Das verteilte digitale Bildarchiv für Forschung & Lehre e.V.” gegründet. Der von prometheus initiierte Workshop “Perspektiven” zeigt Verstetigungsmodelle auf und dient dem Erfahrungsaustausch. | » Zur Vereinsgeschichte
Ziele des Projekts sind die Zusammenführung von Bilddatenbanken, die interdisziplinäre Vernetzung und die Nutzung des digitalen Mediums für Forschung und Lehre. In der Projektzeit werden 20 Datenbanken und mehr als 150.000 Bilder eingebunden. Über 60 Institutionen schließen sich als assoziierte Partner*innen an.| » Zur Projektgeschichte
Als Verbundprojekt der Universität zu Köln, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen und der Hochschule Anhalt geht prometheus am 1. April an den Start. Das auf drei Jahre angelegte Projekt wird mit 1,8 Mio. Euro vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BmB+F) gefördert.| » Über prometheus